Thriving Through the Grind: My 8th Straight Year of a Gym Record

I DID IT. For the 8th straight year, I set a personal gym/workout record, in what has been the most brutal and challenging year of my life.

You need those goals that nobody cares about or knows about, like writing books, working out, gratitude journaling, etc. because sometimes they help you get out of bed in the morning. Motivation comes from within.

It’s ironic that this comes at a time in my life when I’m aging but also have 3 kids and 2 pets and the primary time to work out is 5 AM. There are days when your workout is interrupted by a sick kid or one who wants to play. There are days when you don’t feel 100%, much less 50%. I know I push myself too hard and play through pain when I shouldn’t.

But there are also days where you seize the opportunities – hitting the treadmill on conference calls, listening to the Bible or Audible while lifting weights or watching a show on the exercise bike.

I’m very grateful to Microsoft for giving us funds each year for health and wellness. Because of this, I created my own home gym in the pandemic.

Microsoft’s motto is “Just move.” How you move is personal to you, and whether it was answering the bell after my 4:30 alarm, walking or lifting during conference calls or even getting a stepping machine for my office, I do what I can every day. That’s all I can control.

I’m very aware the day will come when I can’t do this anymore, whether I set the bar too high or my body won’t allow it, but that day is not today.

What are your goals you keep close to the vest?

“If you set your mind to it, you can accomplish anything.” Back to the Future. 

#FitnessJourney #PersonalAchievement #MindOverMatter #WorkoutMotivation #GymGoals #GratitudeChallenge #SelfDiscipline #WellnessWednesday #JustMove

About cvheady007

I am a Christian, Husband, Dad, workaholic and author. Biography Carson Vincent Heady was born in Cape Girardeau, MO, graduated from Southeast Missouri State University and moved to St. Louis in 2001. He has served in sales and leadership across Microsoft, AT&T, Verizon and T-Mobile. Carson is best-selling author of the Birth of a Salesman series, the first book of which was published by World Audience Inc. in 2010. He released The Salesman Against the World in 2014, A Salesman Forever in 2016 and Salesman on Fire in 2020. He is also featured in Scott Ingram’s B2B Sales Mentors: 20 Stories from 20 Top 1% Sales Professionals. Carson is a 7-time CEO/President’s Club winner across 5 roles at AT&T and Microsoft and National Verizon Rockstar winner. He has been recognized as a top social seller at Microsoft and is consistently ranked in the top 25 sales gurus in the world on Rise Global. He is included among the Top 50 sales authors on LinkedIn. With over 330K social followers, Carson has also been interviewed on over 30 sales and leadership podcasts, by such luminaries as Jeffrey & Jennifer Gitomer, Jeb Blount, Brandon Bornancin, Sam Dunning, Larry Levine, Darrell Amy, Scott Ingram, Thierry van Herwijnen, Jim Brown, Sam Jacobs, Luigi Prestinenzi, Donald Kelly, Marylou Tyler, George Leith, Pat Helmer, Eric Nelson, Ron Tunick, Jeff Arthur, Mary Ann Samedi, Jean Oursler, Andre Harrell, Marlene Chism, Bill Crespo, Matt Tanguay, Josh Wheeler and Chad Bostick. He has also co-hosted the Smart Biz Show on EG Marketing Radio. His articles have appeared in several noteworthy publications such as SalesGravy, Smash! Sales, Salesopedia and the Baylor Sports Department S3 Report. Carson lives in St. Louis, MO, with his wife Amy and daughters Madison, Sidonia and Charlotte.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment