If You Have a Gift, It Is a Crime Not To Let Others See It

If You Have a Gift, It is a Crime Not To Let People See It

By CARSON V. HEADY – WWW.CARSONVHEADY.COM

Every time I drop my princess daughter off at the sitter’s and she has a treat of some kind, she is required to share with the others. One of my primary goals is to instill in her the principle and concept of putting others ahead of herself. While it is not always easy or desirable to do, the outcome pays dividends. This very mantra led me to the success I have had in the selling game and in sales leadership and that same principle should be applied in your daily life – be it in career or pursuit of your dreams.

We were all born into this world with something to give. Every one of us. Trouble is, we often get caught up on what we do not have or what is holding us back rather than making the choice to shine. For, after all, it is a choice.

We all need affirmation of some kind – someone to tell us that we are good. This is the very reason many people seek this in significant others and become dependent on their “love” – they have to have this confirmation to keep themselves going. Others of us find that drive and the necessary mechanics internally. Some cower in the corner, afraid of rejection or ridicule.

But if you have a gift – which I am quite certain you do – it is your duty to share it with the world.

We all have talents. We all have shortcomings. One of the most delicate tricks to life is to keep balance in our focus and not let those shortcomings define us or overtake what we are passionate about or good at.

There was a time I was introverted, stayed to myself and opened up very little with others. Still to this day, I am heavily guarded with my emotions (when I let them exist at all) and I trust next to no one. Yet through the years I realized I could effectively communicate, that I could ignite a spark in others in their lives and career and that I could lead others to goals they never would have thought possible. My gift is leadership and communication and I have just recently decided to no longer hold back in putting myself out there wherever possible to the world. It is my duty.

You, too, have gifts. Truth is, you may be the best at something or you may be 10th best. The Olympics are not open to just one participant. There is not just one sport, one team, one destination. There is not just one politician, one book, one television station out there. Finding our niche is not always easy but it should always involve following your heart, your dream and goal of living a life without regret.

Someone once told me that my occupation should be involved with what I would do if I won $1 million. I would write and I would help people in any way I can.

So, what would you contribute to the world if money was no object? Of course, it is an object, but that should steer you onto the course of finding what you love. Do not let the money and possessions you own own you.

Life is too short not to find something you truly love. Hone in on your passions, decide how you are going to express those gifts and enjoy the dividends that you receive by giving back to the world.

About cvheady007

I am a Christian, Husband, Dad, workaholic and author. Biography Carson Vincent Heady was born in Cape Girardeau, MO, graduated from Southeast Missouri State University and moved to St. Louis in 2001. He has served in sales and leadership across Microsoft, AT&T, Verizon and T-Mobile. Carson is best-selling author of the Birth of a Salesman series, the first book of which was published by World Audience Inc. in 2010. He released The Salesman Against the World in 2014, A Salesman Forever in 2016 and Salesman on Fire in 2020. He is also featured in Scott Ingram’s B2B Sales Mentors: 20 Stories from 20 Top 1% Sales Professionals. Carson is a 7-time CEO/President’s Club winner across 5 roles at AT&T and Microsoft and National Verizon Rockstar winner. He has been recognized as a top social seller at Microsoft and is consistently ranked in the top 25 sales gurus in the world on Rise Global. He is included among the Top 50 sales authors on LinkedIn. With over 330K social followers, Carson has also been interviewed on over 30 sales and leadership podcasts, by such luminaries as Jeffrey & Jennifer Gitomer, Jeb Blount, Brandon Bornancin, Sam Dunning, Larry Levine, Darrell Amy, Scott Ingram, Thierry van Herwijnen, Jim Brown, Sam Jacobs, Luigi Prestinenzi, Donald Kelly, Marylou Tyler, George Leith, Pat Helmer, Eric Nelson, Ron Tunick, Jeff Arthur, Mary Ann Samedi, Jean Oursler, Andre Harrell, Marlene Chism, Bill Crespo, Matt Tanguay, Josh Wheeler and Chad Bostick. He has also co-hosted the Smart Biz Show on EG Marketing Radio. His articles have appeared in several noteworthy publications such as SalesGravy, Smash! Sales, Salesopedia and the Baylor Sports Department S3 Report. Carson lives in St. Louis, MO, with his wife Amy and daughters Madison, Sidonia and Charlotte.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to If You Have a Gift, It Is a Crime Not To Let Others See It

  1. Barry Mastrantonio says:

    God has given us all gifts and talents and it is our duty and obligation to find out what those gifts are and use them to our fullest potential for His Glory.

Leave a comment